Entries were judged by faculty members of the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University.

Awards For Works Published in 1995


Category 1: Grand Award — Lowell Thomas Travel Journalist of the Year.
Gold: William Ecenbarger, freelance writer
Silver: Christopher Reynolds, Los Angeles Times
Bronze: Catherine Watson, Star Tribune, Minneapolis

Category 2: Newspaper Travel Sections
2A — Newspapers with 500,000 or more circulation
Gold: Chicago Tribune
Silver: The Seattle Times
Bronze: Atlanta Journal-Constitution

2B — Newspapers with 350,000-499,999 Circulation
Gold: Rocky Mountain News
Silver: St. Petersburg Times
Bronze: Orange County Register

2C — Newspapers with less than 350,000 Circulation
Gold: New Orleans Times-Picayune
Silver: Asbury Park Sunday Press
Bronze: Toronto Globe and Mail

Category 3: Travel Magazines
3A — Monthly or more frequent
Gold: Hemispheres
Silver: Arizona Highways
Bronze: Westways

3B — Non-monthly
Gold: Travel Holiday
Silver: Islands
Bronze: Los Angeles Times

Category 4: Newspaper Article on U.S./Canada Travel
Gold: Alan Solomon, Chicago Tribune
Silver: Chris Knapp, Orange County Register
Bronze: Syd Kearney, Houston Chronicle

Category 5: Magazine Article on U.S/Canada Travel
Gold: E. Annie Proulx, Outside
Silver: James Conaway, National Geographic Traveler
Bronze: Joe Nick Patoski, Westways

Category 6: Newspaper Article on Foreign Travel
Gold: William Ecenbarger, Philadelphia Inquirer
Silver: Robert Cross, Chicago Tribune
Bronze: David Molyneaux, The Plain Dealer, Cleveland

Category 7: Magazine Article on Foreign Travel
Gold: Yvonne Horn, Discovery
Silver: Carl Hoffman, Hemispheres
Bronze: Kim Heacox, Islands

Category 8: Newspaper Photo Illustration of Travel/Color
Gold: Chris Welsch, Star Tribune, Minneapolis
Silver & Bronze: Jill Schensul, The Record (Hackensack, NJ)

Category 9: Magazine Photo Illustration of Travel/Color
Gold: Farrell Grehan, The World & I
Silver: Karen Kuehn, Travel Holiday
Bronze: Ty Allison, Westways

Category 10: Self-Illustrated Article
Gold: Robert Cross, Chicago Tribune
Silver: Jill Schensul, The Record (NJ)
Bronze: Susan Kaye, Denver Post

Category 11: Article on Land Travel
Gold: Kevin Keating, Hemispheres
Silver: Adam Platt, Travel Holiday
Bronze: Preston Lerner, Westways

Category 12: Article on Marine Travel
Gold: Bob Payne, Conde Nast Traveler
Silver: Greg Breining, Islands
Bronze: Stephen Bloom, The Washington Post

Category 13: Article on Adventure Travel
Gold: Alison DaRosa, San Diego Union-Tribune
Silver: Richard Bangs, Diversion
Bronze: Herbert Hiller, Adventure Cyclists

Category 14: Travel News/ Investigative Reporting
Gold: Gary Stoller, Conde Nast Traveler
Silver: Philip Govrevitch, Outside
Bronze: Dan Zevin, Rolling Stone

Category 15: Service-Oriented Consumer Article
Gold: David Noland, Everett Potter, Bob Howells & Meg Noonan, Outside Trip Finder
Silver: Ann Jones, National Geographic Traveler
Bronze: Katy Koontz, The Record (NJ)

Category 16: Environmental Tourism Article
Gold: Eugene Eden, Time
Silver: Joy Lewis, Denver Post
Bronze: Michael Carlton, Southern Living

Category 17: Cultural Tourism Article
Gold: William Ecenbarger, The Philadelphia Inquirer
Silver: Catherine Watson, Star Tribune, Minneapolis
Bronze: Vanda Sendzimir, North American Review

Category 18: Travel Book
Gold: Marybeth Bond, “Travelers’ Tales: A Woman’s World,” Travelers’ Tales
Silver: Jeff Greenwald, “The Size of the World,” Globe Pequot Press
Bronze: Alan Ryan, “The Reader’s Companion to Mexico,” Harcourt Brace & Co.

Category 19: Guidebook
Gold: Kay Showker and Bob Sehlinger, “The Unofficial Guide to Cruises,” Macmillan Travel
Silver: Harry S. Pariser, “Adventure Guide to Barbados,” Hunter Publishing
Bronze: Christopher P. Baker, “Costa Rica Handbook,” Moon Publications

Category 20: Destination Travel (Film, Video, Audio, Combo)
Gold: Janet Forman, “Postcard from Vietnam,” Forman/ Houghton Pictures
Silver: Ron Bernthal, “Borders,” WJFF Radio Catskill
Bronze: No winner

Category 21: Electronic Computer Media
Gold: Tracy Cabot and Marshall Whitfield, “Travel4Lovers”
Silver: Peter Sauers and Richard Bangs “The Ultimate Guide to Adventure Travel”
Bronze: Lee Foster, “Lee Foster’s Award-Winning Travel Writing & Photography”

The Society of American Travel Writers Foundation was begun in 1981 by a group of SATW writers, editors and public relations professionals who were concerned about the future of travel journalism.
SATW (the Society of American Travel Writers) is the pre-eminent professional association of travel journalists and communicators. Learn more about this premier networking organization by visiting its website,
Scroll to Top